The hogwash about morals

Mom was right and here’s why

Susan Brassfield Cogan
7 min readJan 20, 2018

Someone I read or heard recently (I can’t find the reference. If I do I will credit them.) said that “People think of morals as something similar to Grandma’s corset.” They think that the purpose of morals is to constrain you. Most people believe unconsciously that morals were deliberately imposed to keep you from having too much fun. Or to regulate when, how and with whom you get laid. Or to keep you from becoming a thief or a serial killer and that all morality originates from religion.

Yeah, because everyone wants to be a serial killer and they only reason they don’t is because it will piss off God. I roll my eyes.

Hogwash of the first water

People did not read “thou shall not kill” on a stone tablet, smack their forehead and say “What a good idea! Why didn’t we think of that?”

Nope, they already knew it. When a 3-year-old Israelite stole a cookie from his brother, his mom slapped his little hand and said “Don’t take something that’s not yours!” Where did she learn it? From her mom. Who learned it from Grandma. It’s moms all the way down to the bottom.

No mom come up with the injunction against graven images. That’s political. It’s obviously not immoral to draw a picture. The name in vain thing? Seriously…

--

--

Susan Brassfield Cogan

I write self-help, life coaching, and political opinion. I am a creativity and mindfulness coach https://linktr.ee/susanbcogan